Elementary Art Educator Award Winners

1-Janiece portrait

Janiece Kinzle is the 2015-2016 Outstanding Elementary Art Educator.  She retired from teaching elementary art at Glenwood Community Schools in the spring of 2015.  Janiece Kinzle has had students’ work recognized and exhibited at many venues including the YAM Governor’s Show, AEI All State, and the Joslyn Art Museum.  She has been a conference presenter at AEI and NAEA conferences.  Janiece co-chaired two AEI conferences, once in 1999 and again in 2012.  She was on the YAM committee from 2008-2013.  Janiece is pursuing her interest in photography.

“Over the past 36 years I have been blessed to have the privilege of encouraging thousands of students to “Think Like An Artist” in my teachings of the visual arts.

Arts education develops students’ creativity, problem-solving, and critical thinking abilities. Art teaches beauty, order, and expressive qualities. Art gives students a deeper understanding of multicultural values and reinforces and brings to life what students learn in other subjects. Student engagement in art teaches collaboration, innovation, and readiness for real-life.
Thank you so very much for this grand honor from the Art Educators of Iowa.  I couldn’t think of better way to start retirement than to be recognized and thanked for a job well done.  I love teaching art.  It is my hope that the students that I have taught have good memories of their art experiences and have a “love of art” throughout their lives.”  Janiece Kinzle


2013 Sarah Dougherty and Pamela Muench
2012 Nancy Barsic
2010 Joni Krejchi
2009 Stacey Houk
2008 Cynthia Spears
2007 Liz Lyons
2006 Amy Pfeiler-Wunder
2005 Susanne Noonan, Sandra Wentworth
2004 Margaret Parks
2003 Mat Safly
2002 Mary Beth Craven
2001 Wendy Livy
2000 Becky Kobos
1999 Annette Vance
1998 Jeff Tansen, Jean Caboth, Shawn Reynolds
1997 Ken Esveld
1996 Kyra Wilcox-Conlely
1995 Pat Grubb
1994 Steve Cox
1993 Susan Baer
1992 Andy Helgerson
1991 Christine Laue
1990 Marilyn Green
1989 Sandy Vas
1988 Cliff Coussens
1987 Tempest Kuykandall
1986 Lynda Black
1985 Suzanne Runyan
1984 Joyce Dazey