Awards & Nominations

Excellence: An AEI Tradition

Established as a professional organization in 1950, Art Educators of Iowa soon began recognizing those of its members who stood out as exemplars in the field.

Awards are given each year to selected members of the Iowa arts education community who have shown exemplary dedication to the craft of teaching art to others. The immediate Past President acts as the Awards Chair with previous winners as the committee.

How to Nominate

Click the link below to nominate somebody who shows exemplary leadership in the profession of art education.

Nomination Information

Divisions of Art Educator Awards

Click on this link to see a list of all AEI award winners since 1983.
Click on a link below to see a list of winners within that division.

Art Educator of the Year Higher Education Art Educator
Elementary Art Educator Distinguished Service Within the Profession
Middle Level Art Educator Distinguished Service Outside the Profession
Secondary Art Educator Special Service Awards
Supervision / Administration / Museum Art Educator