All State

  Instagram all statefacebook logo all state

On behalf of Art Educators of Iowa and the All-State Visual Art Awards Committee, congratulations and thank you to all nominees and nominating art educators. We appreciate the time and effort it takes to compile a portfolio and complete the submission process. Though we provide the opportunity to recognize students for outstanding work, it is the time, nurture, and support that individual teachers give students with potential that is most significant. Please, continue to participate and encourage other teachers in your district, region, and conference to become participating members. The more participants involved, the more students we can honor for their outstanding efforts.

This year, judging was completed remotely for the first time by the following:
Clar Baldus – University of Iowa
Jeff Byrd – University of Northern Iowa
Jan Dotzler – Creative Center – Omaha, NE
Anna Pagnucci – Ashford University
Joseph Lappie – St. Ambrose University

Judging is 100% randomized and anonymous and each individual piece is evaluated. Essays are judged on a point scale of

0-5 Points, and Portfolio Images are judged on a scale of 5-10. Out of 111 students who submitted, this was one of the tightest races, point-wise, in All State history. Judge Joseph Lappie stated, “There was some really strong work this year. I felt like ceramics was hitting it out of the ballpark. There are also a lot of strong “drawers”. Writing was pretty centered, with a lot of students writing about their unique voice, but an equal amount of artists speaking out about the collaborative and interdisciplinary nature of visual arts. To me, this shows how strong Iowa students can be.” Judge Jan Dotzler stated, “Let me congratulate the Iowa student artists on all their fantastic work! There were many submissions I considered excellent, especially in the photography category. Some of the stylized artwork had intriguing concepts and were well designed and executed. The ceramics had a look of sophistication, as you would see in art galleries, and several realistic drawings were outstanding. That’s a wonderful reflection of the quality standards set by the art teachers.” Student scores can be viewed in their portals under each image.

The All State Committee is pleased to announce this year’s top portfolios.
2015 All State Visual Arts Awardees

Awardee Grade School District
Aleyna Moeller 12 Norwalk High School
 Brittany Winch  12  Linn-Mar High School
 Austin Robertson  12  Davenport North High School
 Katie Sailer  12   Ames High School
 Julian Gruber  12  Central Academy
 Thompson Chloe  12  Davenport Central High School
 Ann Peters  12    Pleasant Valley High School
 Claire Pettinger  12  Mount Vernon High School
 Jacob Smith  12   Tipton High School
 Taylor Shaw  12  Davenport West/Creative Arts Academy QC
 Maddie Krumel  12   Dowling Catholic High School
 Savanna Genskow  12   Linn-Mar High School
 Bree Linville  12 Washington High School
 Jacy Embray  12  Glenwood High School
 Alexis Barr  11  Clarke High School
 William McKay  12  Davenport Central/Creative Arts Academy QC
 Deven Skaff  12  Davenport North High School
 Megan Brannen  12  Dowling Catholic High School
 Taylor Chandler  12  Davenport Central High School
 Isaiah Patton  12  Dowling Catholic High School
 Zoe Theobald  12  Dowling Catholic High School
 Alison Lancelotti  12  Norwalk High School

  Schools with Highest Scores from Top 5 Students
2015 Allstate Visual Arts Teams

High School Total Score
Davenport Central High School 2304 Points
Dowling Catholic High School 2303 Points
Norwalk High School 2226 Points

Please join us for the awards ceremony at the Des Moines Art Center on Saturday, May 2, 2015. We ask that students and teachers check-in by 1:30pm. Each awardee is asked to bring a work to be displayed for the duration of the reception and the awards ceremony. A reception for attendees and guests will begin at 1:30pm with the awards ceremony following at 2:00pm. The nominating teacher or a representative will be introducing and saying a few words about each awardee. In case of bad weather, check our website for ceremony updates or cancellation news.

If you are interested in becoming more involved in the process and would like to join the All-State Committee, please let us know. We are always looking for new ideas and faces. Also, if you have suggestions or comments about the new submission process feel free to contact the committee at

Kansas City Art Institute: $1,000 scholarship.
Creative Center – Omaha, NE: $1,000 scholarship.
University of Iowa: $1,000 scholarship.

The above institutions will offer the scholarships under the condition of the student meeting the minimum requirements to be accepted to the institution and would be awarded upon admittance.  Looking forward to seeing next year’s submission of outstanding Iowa high school artists and their portfolios!

The All-State Visual Arts Awards Organization Committee

Devin T. Hanson, Morgan Singleton, Teri Breck, Maggie Harlow-Vogt, Elizabeth Schmelzer, and Drew Pauli